675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

Daytona 675R vs 959 Panigale

Discussion in 'General' started by RainDanceKid, Jul 1, 2019.

1. RainDanceKid

RainDanceKid

After 8 delightful years with the Daytona, I’m just beginning to fancy something new and have always loved the look and aura of the Ducati’s.

I’m a rural road rider rather than track, and I have always found the Triumph very forgiving (it needs to be as I’m no expert ) and easy to ride, and my main concern is whether the Ducati is too focused and requires a level of skill to be comfortable which I may not have.

I know there are some hugely knowledgable people on here many of whom have made the switch and would really appreciate your advice.

Cheers
    RDK

Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  2. Hogster

Hogster

I love the look of the panigale etc but as many of the pro's of ownership I am sure there are just as many cons. Parts will cost more, servicing cost more as I doubt you could do it yourself as easy as the daytona, performance parts and upgrades cost more, and they seem to have reliability issues which can be the same as any manufacturer.

What is it you dont like about the daytona any longer, how it looks, the power, comfort etc? Have you any mods done, maybe spend a few quid tricking her up and you will fall in love again?

3. I’ve spent a lot of time going between 675r, 899 and 959 and now 848. The 959 is the most useable of the lot, super light clutch and the handling on the panigale is much more like a ‘normal’ bike. The older Ducati’s were a little more quirky and slow steering.

Tbf you will adjust pretty quickly, but I would strongly recommend setting the throttle sensitivity to ‘high’ in the sport mode because it’s actually much harder to ride in town on the standard setting.