675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

Newer model dash on older model 675

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Phanomenal675, Nov 11, 2018.

  1. Phanomenal675

    Phanomenal675

    Thread Starter

    51
    4
    8
    Location: Philadelphia
    Do you guys know if the newer post 2011 dash is a direct swap with the older one. I have a 2010 that has the old style gauge cluster but I like the newer style gauge cluster better. Talking about the daytona
     
  2. Captain Steffydog

    Captain Steffydog Moderator Staff Member

    18,998
    1,073
    113
    Location: East London/Essex
    Pretty sure it’s a no, someone will be along shorty to confirm I’m sure.
     
  3. T_daytona675

    T_daytona675

    4,475
    248
    63
    Location: Cheshire
    Newer dash won't work on older bike because of ECU and also think the plug fitment for dash maybe different also

    06-08 gen 1

    09-12 gen 2

    13-17 gen 3
     
  4. Stu675

    Stu675

    6,372
    488
    83
    Location: Gu1
    So as long as you also swap the ECU and maybe the loom, it should be OK?
     
  5. Cat amongst the pigeons but I had one of the gen 2/2009 with the old shape cluster that got damaged in an accident and swapped it for a spare newer shape pre>13 one no problem
     
  6. Phanomenal675

    Phanomenal675

    Thread Starter

    51
    4
    8
    Location: Philadelphia
    Did you have to swap ecu? How much did the newer dash cost you?
     
  7. No, just unplugged the old one and plugged in the new one
    Bought a big collection of spares and was part of it so couldn’t give you a price
     
  8. Oteos

    Oteos

    9
    0
    1
    Location: Greece
    I did the same thing...mine is 09 model and plugged the new one....works just fine..;)
     
  9. Oh wow, I remember November two years a go - good times
     
  10. Oteos

    Oteos

    9
    0
    1
    Location: Greece
    :pjust browsing and thought someone might find it handy as info........or just plain gravesnooping:D
     
  11. Hogster

    Hogster

    286
    17
    18
    Location: Ireland
    Seems interesting will this work on 2007 grn 1 ?
     
  12. Oteos

    Oteos

    9
    0
    1
    Location: Greece
    I think that it does not because the first gen has a different ECU....the plug is the same though..
     
  13. It most certainly won’t mate,
    Don’t be fooled.
    The dashes are fitted with age recognition which will only work with each generation bike.
    The lads on here that have managed to upgrade their clocks have just been lucky in that their bikes were originally generation 2 models but had the older looking dash fitted from the factory but programmed to gen 2
    (Basically triumph using up surplus stock prior to installing the new units)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. Hogster

    Hogster

    286
    17
    18
    Location: Ireland
    Cheers for clearing that up guys would be nice to have th second gen dash on the first gen but means i wont waste any more money haha.
     
  15. As Lenny said
    07-08 clocks and ECU
    09-13 clocks and ecu
    13+ clocks ECU and immobiliser

    The SE Daytona 675’s from 09+ had the earlier dash which could be swapped over an be done if you buy the later ECU aswell, don’t need to program the keys or anything
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. By using this website you agree to our Cookies usage. We and our partners operate globally and use cookies, including for analytics, personalisation, ads and Newsletters:
    Dismiss Notice