675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

Hand numbness

Discussion in 'Riding Tips' started by gibo675, Apr 28, 2009.

1. gibo675

gibo675

Hi all
    This is my first time posting anything so please forgive me if there are any mistakes :?
    I have only had my 675 se a few weeks my first sport bike and not been on a bike for a few years.
    I was out at the weekend with all the good weather, and had only done a few miles when I was getting pins and needles in both hands and some numbness. :(
    The only thing I could think it was it the gloves? They are a summer gloves.
    When I picked the bike up I had on my winter pair due to it raining did not notice a problem.
    Has anyone else had this problem or know of a solution.

2. Hi Gibo....check out the post below....someone already asking about numb fingers!

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=504

I also suffer this problem....but only in my right hand....I think it something to do with my gloves tho...but the forward riding position probably doesn't help either!

3. Edski675

Edski675 Administrator Staff Member

gibo, I don't get any such problems with my 08 bike. Are you sitting comfortably... relaxed grip on bars, gripping tank w/knees, supporting torso w/stomach muscles? (I actually lean on my tankbag!!!)

4. gibo675

gibo675

Thanks Sparky, thought I had looked for a post about this but not good enough though.
    Thanks Edski675, I will try to adjust my riding position as for supporting my torso with stomach muscles that’s another question (will lean on my barrel!!! lol) Also need to get some protection for side of tank any surgestions?

5. kingfixer

kingfixer

Gibo, I have just ordered tank protector & sides from tech spec, they're in usa but will post to uk. they came highly recommended, does any one else use them or know what they are like? :)

6. bubbaf

bubbaf

Just ordered some Stompgrips from this lot £34.99 + p&p

http://www.intobikes.co.uk/products?bf=1&bk=8011640

7. Getting Stompgrips helped me loads with this problem.