675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

How not to clean your chain!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'General' started by miker, Sep 24, 2009.

1. miker

miker

Sorry guys take a look at this link!!!!

*****LEAVE NOW IF YOU WILL BE OFFENDED BY GRAPHIC PICS*****

I will start off by saying that I am a worthless squid rookie and I suck at everything in life.
    I was about to go for a ride today and my chain was pretty nasty, so I put it up on the stands and got out the wd-40 and a rag. I started the bike, put it in gear and let it idle. I sprayed the chain down really well and I put the rag up to it and it got caught and took my hand with it through the rear sprocket. I had to have everything above my last joint amputated on my index, pointer and my ring finger on my right hand. Thankfully I am left handed. It was a stupid mistake on my part and now I will forever pay the price for it. Say what you will, flame away, I don't care. I have accepted it and I take full responsibility. I made a choice (not knowing any better) and I will live with the consequences for the rest of my life. I thought I would post this so that 1.) no one else ever makes this mistake and 2.) To show that you don't have to be riding for a bike to get you hurt.

http://www.gixxer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=242261

One of you guy who know how to use the forum better may be able to present this better!

2. Rowly

Rowly

Hi Miker, Thats certainly an experience that I would not like to go through and if it stops
    anyone else making the same mistake your trauma and pain will serve to warn others of
    the dangers of what would seem a simple part of motorcycle maintenance.

3. miker

miker

Sorry I should have made it clear this is not me!

Just thought others should see it because I think everyone has done somthing similar but not had this happen!

4. Edski675

Edski675 Administrator Staff Member