675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

New job - well sort of

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Edski675, May 21, 2009.

1. Edski675

Edski675

Administrator Staff Member

I'm so so happy about this. I'm a self-employed solicitor, partner in a small firm in Shrewsbury. We do a lot of property based work - so we aren't exactly rushed off our feet at the moment, in fact I was crying in my beer to Ian (xcbrrider on here) about it last night. I do a locum job as well for a large council in the north of England, works out at one day a week, maybe a bit more. Well I was there today and they shocked me - they asked me to work full time for 3 months :D :D Turns out they've tried to get someone for the role (Community Services related legal work) and couldn't find anyone, so they thought of me. I was so made up, really happy, and the money is dead useful too. I can do a lot of it from S'bury but I'll be on the M6 a lot more. So I'll be drafting contracts for Community Services providers - much of it is contracted out housing related stuff for vulnerable adults and adolescents, provision of external carer and social work services, service level agreements, that sort of thing.

Did I say I'm excited about it? :D :cool:

2. jimjam39

jimjam39

Congrats Edski :) . Its good to know its not all doom and gloom .

3. Stu

Stu

That is good news in this current climate. Well done.

I had my pay review this week - nada. Jean had her's and got an extra 3 grand :) She's obviously doing something right.

4. Graham H675

Graham H675

good too here it ed now i think it's time to get a pay rise lool

5. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Great news Ed, that will keep the bank happy :D :D :D :D .
    The beer made a difference then? Must do it more often put the world to rights while enjoying a beer :lol:

6. Well done mate.

I was made redundant 6 weeks ago. Left on the friday. Started my new job on the Monday. Now self employed. Much less hours, more rewarding and 40% pay rise.