675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

vosa????

Discussion in 'Rants & Raves' started by spike, Nov 26, 2009.

1. spike

spike

just curious who are these vosa dudes that have cars like the police?
    what do they have in the way of powers to pull people?
    and if so can they prosecute you?
    just curious as i seem to be seeing more vosa cars than police on the motorways
    can anyone enlighten me.
    is this more of big brother britain and its agencies that seem to spring up out of thin air without public consultation. :( :evil:
    the british public need to wake up from its apathy
    there! rant over lol

2. SV_Justin

SV_Justin

I'm not sure what they are for. Do they just check MOT's and roadworthiness? I believe they can pull cars over and issue notices but i'm not sure about anything else

3. vechile operating services agency, http://www.dft.gov.uk/vosa/aboutvosa/wh ... m#P10_1905 they basically help to enforce road worthiness of vehicles, im a lorry driver and they're are you're worst night mare come true if you're lorry isn't fit for the road they have the power to seize your vehicle if unroadworthy and have the police turn up and arrest you but they do mainly seem to concentrate on the eastwern european lorry drivers but if you're driving a piece of shit whatever the vehicle be it car bike lorry they have the power to pull you over

4. henrymc

henrymc

In that case they are the good guys, because if a vehicle is not road worthy then it should not be on the road, Anyone remember a year or two ago when a lorry went through the central reservation on the M25 killing two bikers? I am not saying that the lorry was defective but when you have something that size and weight that IS defective that is the sort of thing that can happen.

5. SV_Justin

SV_Justin

I think they are good, when you hear the frightening statistics of unroadworthy foreign lorries on our roads. But I bet they're a pain if you get stopped by them
    AND