675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

Whippet Checking In

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Whippet, Dec 12, 2009.

1. Whippet

Whippet

Hi everyone,

I'm a 45 year old plumber from Newbury in Berkshire. I bought my 675 in Nov 2008 and have used it for endurance racing and track days this year. I definitly fall into the category of old bloke re-living the youth he never had rather than up and coming talent. Still, racing has been a massive rush and I plan to do more in 2010. I tend to run in the back half of the field but not last, this is good enough for me as the guys in front often crash more than me. If you fancy reading about a few of my races Google "snug racing" & check out my reports from Mallory, Anglesey or Pembrey.

My bike achieved a bit of fame this year which i was very chuffed about. I had bought it from a young Irish racer called John Simpson who rides for Trickbits. In 2008 he won New Era superstock on my bike and came 2nd in Sound of Thunder ( against big Ducatis!!). In 2009 he moved up to BSB Superstock on an R6. He didn't get on at all with the new bike and best result was 25th. To help him out lent him the 675 back for the Cadwell BSB round which he then went and won!! He's back on a 675 for 2010 & is a good bet for the championship. Go and watch him, bloody entertaining watching a 675 being backed into a corner on full opposite lock!!

I am writing this from my phone and will post a few pictures up when I get home.

2. Welcome aboard Whippet! Do you have any Northern roots with a nickname like that? :lol:
    Looking forward to pics :D

3. Whippet

Whippet

I'm married to a County Durham girl and my mother was Manx. I also love black pudding.

4. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Welcome aboard and look forward to the pic.

5. si675

si675

hi siw

got your message thats me changed over,

lot of sxxt talk on the other site people seem to grow arms and legs and sway away from particular topics never get a straight answer.