675.cc • Triumph 675 Forum

Hoping to race this year. Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Racing' started by Daza, Jan 29, 2019.

1. Daza

Daza

Hi

I own a 2006 675. Its pretty much standard. Ive replaced the can with an Arrow and put a tail tidy on but apart from that its as bought.

I'd like to give track racing a crack this year. I've found a novice group through 'No Limits Racing' that will accept my standard. I've done a number of track days in the past and I'm in the mix within the middle group.

I'm really just after some advice on how to set the bike up? What will I need to buy? Will I need new any/all of the following:

1. Race tyres? If so which ones?
    2. Tyre warmers
    3. Fancy brakes
    4. Will I need to remove the mirrors, number plate and indicators?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Daza

2. TripleJimmy

TripleJimmy Moderator Staff Member

I am no expert but have wobbled around a few times. I'd say tyre warmers are a yes, fancy breaks a no. Just get some decent pads, I used to use sbs race pads and found them good. You'll need full bodywork and remove the side stand. You'll need a rain light that is controlled from the bars (on/off) and a number. Has to be blue (I think) on a white back ground. On the front and rear of the bike. No road going bits a bobs allowed I.e. indicators number, plate hanger and so on.

You'll need to lock wire sump plug and oil filter. I think that's it unless you do endurance then you have to lock wire break bolts and a few other things too. Tyres I'd say just go with any good track day tyre, no need to spend hundreds on slicks or anything to fancy starting out.

You will have to drop your coolant and run water only to.

ACU licence and a bib also needed for yourself.

Spend some money on the suspension. Stock stuff is fine just get it serviced and properly setup for you. If you have the cash maybe get it reworked. A quickshifter and slipper clutch will help but, not essential.